Pedro Delgado

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, USA

Pedro Delgado serves dual roles as the Dielmann Distinguished Professor and the Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and the Associate Dean for the Faculty Development and Professionalism of the School of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Dr. Delgado earned his B.S. degree in biology (summa cum laude) at the University of Houston, Tex, USA, and his M.D. and M.A. degrees in pharmacology at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, Tex, USA. He completed his internship and residency in psychiatry at Yale University School of Medicine in New Haven, Conn, USA. Over the past 20 years, he has served on the faculty at Yale University School of Medicine, the University of Arizona College of Medicine, and Case Western Reserve School of Medicine. He was a Douglas Danford Bond Professor and the Chairman of Psychiatry at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine prior assuming his current position in San Antonio, Tex, USA, in 2005. His primary research interests include the neurobiology and treatment of mood and stress disorders, human emotion, and the neurobiological mechanisms of antidepressant action. Moreover, he has had continuous federal funding for over 14 years for his research on the biology and treatment of depression. He has published over 100 scientific articles and book chapters concerning these and related topics. He is a Member of many organizations and societies including Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the American Medical Association (AMA), the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Psychiatric Association (APA), the Society for Neuroscience, the American Society of Hispanic Psychiatry (ASHP), the Collegium Internationale Neuropsychopharmacologicum (CINP), and the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP). Dr. Delgado is the recipient of more than 20 honors and awards including the Louis Kettle Faculty Mentor Award, the APA Simon Bolivar Award, and the Anna Monica Award.

Biography Updated on 22 July 2009

Scholarly Contributions [Data Provided by ]