Horace H. Loh

University of Minnesota, USA

Horace H. Loh is a graduate of National Taiwan University with a Ph.D. degree in biochemistry (1965, University of Iowa). He completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, Calif, USA. He later joined that faculty. In 1989, Dr. Loh was appointed as Head at the Department of Pharmacology, University of Minnesota. In 1990, he was named Frederick and Alice Stark Professor in Neuroscience. In 2010, he was named a Regents Professor (the highest honor the University of Minnesota can bestow to its faculty members). Dr. Loh’s scientific contributions focus on the fundamental aspects of opioid drug action. His research has provided fundamental knowledge about the neurochemical mechanisms of narcotic addiction and its treatment potential, the molecular nature of the opioid receptors and their gene structures, and the pharmacology and functions of endogenous opioid peptides. He has over 580 research publications and has trained over 130 Ph.D. students and postdoctorals. His major awards include the Founder’s Lecture Award, International Narcotics Research Conference (2007); University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Award (2007); Nathan B. Eddy Award for Lifetime Achievement in Drug Dependence Research, College on Problems of Drug Dependence (2002); Otto Krayer Award, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (1999) and Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of American Foundation Award in Excellence for Basic Pharmacology (1999). Dr. Loh was a Founder and the Founding President of the Society of Chinese Bioscientists in America. He has served on several study sections and as a Council Member for NIDA, NIH. He is an Associate Editor for the Annual Review of Pharmacology and Current Opinions in Pharmacology and is on the editorial board of over 10 other scientific journals. In 1986, he was elected to the Academia Sinica, Taiwan. He currently serves as Scientific Advisor to many universities, institutes, and the governments of Taiwan, China, and Hong Kong.

Biography Updated on 28 August 2011

Scholarly Contributions [Data Provided by ]