Miguel A. G. Laso

Universidad Pública de Navarra, Spain


Miguel Laso received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the Public University of Navarre (UPNA), Navarre, Spain, in 1997 and 2002, respectively. From 1998 to 2001, he was with the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department, UPNA, as a doctoral fellow student. In the same institution, he was then an Assistant Professor from 2001 to 2006 and an Associate Professor since 2006, always involved with both teaching and research duties in optical communications and microwave engineering. From 2002 to 2003, he was also a Research Fellow with the Payload Systems Division of the European Space Research and Technology Centre, European Space Agency, Noordwijk, The Netherlands. His current research interests comprise periodic structures, photonic/electromagnetic bandgap structures and metamaterials, especially in the microwave and millimeter-wave frequency range, and their applications for telecommunications, as well as synthesis techniques of filters in these frequency ranges and analysis based on the coupled-mode theory. Dr. Laso has published tens of papers in international journals and conferences, and he is a member of several professional and scientific international associations. He was the recipient of a grant from the Spanish Ministry of Education and Science to support his doctoral research at the UPNA from 1998 to 2001 and another one to support his postdoctoral research at the European Space Agency from 2002 to 2003. He has been the recipient of several prizes including the Spanish National Prize to the Best Doctoral Dissertation in Telecommunications (2002) awarded by the Spanish Telecommunications Engineers Association (COIT/AEIT) and the Junior Research Award of the UPNA (2003). He has been also the recipient of a 2005 Spanish National Prize for the Best Project in Innovation in Higher Education awarded by the Spanish Ministry of Education and Science. He is a Cofounder of TAFCO Metawireless S.L.

Biography Updated on 20 April 2010

Scholarly Contributions [Data Provided by ]