Eiichi Tahara

Hiroshima Cancer Seminar Foundation, Japan

Dr. Tahara spent 22 years as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Pathology at Hiroshima University School of Medicine (1978-2000). He also directed the Faculty of Medicine, Hiroshima University School of Medicine (1996-1998). After retirement from Hiroshima University in 2000 he moved to UCSD Cancer Center as a Visiting Professor and then he was Permanent Director and Chief of Research at Radiation Effect Research Foundation (RERF)-US Japan Cooperative Organization- for four years (2001-2005). He is Chairman of the Hiroshima Cancer Seminar Foundation and a member of the Senior Review Panel on Future Planning of RERF. He did a big job in cancer related societies: President of the International Society of Differentiation, 1996-98; First President and Secretary General of the International Society of Gastroenterological Carcinogenesis, 1994-; President of the Japanese Cancer Association, 1999; President of the Japanese Society of Pathology, 1998. He received a variety of awards: RE Bob Smith Lecture Award, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, 1995; Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Pathologists, UK, 1998; Invited participant, First Summit of Leaders of World Cancer Research Organization, 1999; Signature of the “Chart of Paris”, World Summit against Cancer 2000; Nagaya Prize of the Japanese Cancer Association, 2002. Dr. Tahara found that there are distinct genetic pathways of two histological types of gastric carcinoma (IARC Scientific Publications No.157, 2004). He also discovered that gastric cancer cells express a broad spectrum of growth factor/cytokine receptor systems that organize the complex interaction between cancer cells and stromal cells, which confers cell growth, apoptosis, morphogenesis, angiogenesis, progression and metastasis. Recently, he proposed a model for comprehensive prevention of gastric cancer based on novel biomarkers and longitudinal health database of atomic bomb survivors (Florence, 2007).

Biography Updated on 31 March 2010

Scholarly Contributions [Data Provided by ]