Moe Zaw Win

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Moe Win received the B.S. degree (magna cum laude) from Texas A&M University, USA, in 1987, and the M.S. degree from the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, in 1989, both in electrical engineering. As a Presidential Fellow at USC, he received both the M.S. degree in applied mathematics and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering in 1998. He is an Associate Professor at the Laboratory for Information & Decision Systems (LIDS), Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Prior to joining LIDS, he spent 5 years at AT&T Research Laboratories and 7 years at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. His main research interests are the application of mathematical and statistical theories to communication, detection, and estimation problems. Specific current research topics include measurement and modeling of time-varying channels, design and analysis of multiple antenna systems, ultra-wide bandwidth communications systems, optical communications systems, and space communications systems. He has been involved actively in organizing and chairing a number of international conferences. He served as the Technical Program Chair for the IEEE Communication Theory Symposia of ICC 2004 and GLOBECOM 2000, as well as for the UWBST 2002, as a Technical Program Vice-Chair for the ICC 2002, and as the Tutorial Chair for the VTC in Fall 2001. He is the current Chair and past secretary (2002–2004) for the Radio Communications Committee of the IEEE Communications Society. He currently serves as Area Editor for Modulation and Signal Design and Editor for Wideband Wireless and Diversity, both for IEEE Transactions on Communications. He served as the Editor for Equalization and Diversity from July 1998 to June 2003 for the IEEE Transactions on Communications, and as a Guest Editor for the 2002 IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications (Special Issue on Ultra-Wideband Radio in Multiaccess Wireless Communications). He received the International Telecommunications Innovation Award from Korea Electronics Technology Institute in 2002, a Young Investigator Award from the Office of Naval Research in 2003, and the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Sergei A. Schelkuno. Transactions Prize Paper Award in 2003. In 2004, he was named Young Aerospace Engineer of the Year by AIAA, and garnered the Fulbright Foundation Senior Scholar Lecturing and Research Fellowship, the Institute of Advanced Study Natural Sciences and Technology Fellowship, the Outstanding International Collaboration Award from the Industrial Technology Research Institute of Taiwan, and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers from the White House. He was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award from the People of Bangladesh in 2006, and in that same year received the IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award “for pioneering contributions to ultra-wideband communications science and technology.” He is an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer and elected Fellow of the IEEE, cited “for contributions to wideband wireless transmission.”

Biography Updated on 14 March 2007

Scholarly Contributions [Data Provided by ]