David B. Bylund

University of Nebraska Medical Center, USA

David B. Bylund is a Professor at the Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, Neb, USA. He received his Ph.D. degree in biochemistry in 1974 from the University of California, Davis in the laboratory of Nobel Laureate Edwin G. Krebs. Following postdoctoral work in the laboratory of Solomon H. Snyder at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore, MD, he became a faculty member at the Department Pharmacology, University of Missouri-Columbia. In 1988, he assumed the Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha. Dr. Bylund has served as the President of the Catecholamine Club (1989-1990), the Secretary of the Association for Medical School Pharmacology Chairs (1998–2000), the Secretary/Treasurer (1999–2002) and the President (2002–2005) of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, and as a Member of the Board of Directors of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (2003–2007). Dr. Bylund has been the Editor of Pharmacological Reviews (1995–2001) and an Associate Editor of the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (1987–1995 and 2001–2007), and is a coeditor of xPharm, a comprehensive, web-based database. He received the University of Missouri Teaching Award for Medical Pharmacology in 1987 and is included in the ISI database of highly cited researchers in Pharmacology (http://isihighlycited.com). Dr. Bylund has had a long-term interest in the classification and regulation of adrenergic receptors with a current emphasis on adolescent depression. His research activities have been well funded by NIH, and he is the author of over 200 papers. He is also the Director of a NIH-sponsored Integrative and Organ Systems Pharmacology Short Course.

Biography Updated on 16 April 2009

Scholarly Contributions [Data Provided by ]