BioMed Research International

BioMed Research International / 2005 / Article

Review article | Open Access

Volume 2005 |Article ID 483236 |

Mandy Williams, Allal Ouhtit, "Towards a Better Understanding of the Molecular Mechanisms Involved in Sunlight-Induced Melanoma", BioMed Research International, vol. 2005, Article ID 483236, 5 pages, 2005.

Towards a Better Understanding of the Molecular Mechanisms Involved in Sunlight-Induced Melanoma

Received14 Apr 2004
Revised17 Jun 2004
Accepted22 Jun 2004


Although much less prevalent than its nonmelanoma skin cancer counterparts, cutaneous malignant melanoma (CMM) is the most lethal human skin cancer. Epidemiological and biological studies have established a strong link between lifetime exposure to ultraviolet (UV) light, particularly sunburn in childhood, and the development of melanoma. However, the specific molecular targets of this environmental carcinogen are not known. Data obtained from genetic and molecular studies over the last few years have identified the INK4a/ARF locus as the “gatekeeper” melanoma suppressor, encoding two tumour suppressor proteins in human, p16INK4a and p14ARF. Recent developments in molecular biotechnology and research using laboratory animals have made a significant gene breakthrough identifying the components of the p16p16INK4a/Rb pathway as the principal and rate-limiting targets of UV radiation actions in melanoma formation. This review summarizes the current knowledge of the molecular mechanisms involved in melanoma development and its relationship to sunlight UV radiation.

Copyright © 2005 Hindawi Publishing Corporation. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

More related articles

 PDF Download Citation Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Related articles

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2020, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.