About this Journal Submit a Manuscript Table of Contents
International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks
Volume 2012 (2012), Article ID 162347, 11 pages
Research Article

Aggregation Scheme with Secure Hierarchical Clustering for Wireless Sensor Networks

1Department of Information Management, Fortune Institute of Technology, No. 1-10, Nongchang Rd., Neighborhood 28, Lyouciyou Village, Daliao Township, Kaohsiung County 831, Taiwan
2Department of Computer Science and Engineering, National Sun-Yat-Sen University, No. 70, Lienhai Rd., Kaohsiung 80424, Taiwan
3Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering, SHU-TE University, No. 59, Hengshan Rd., Yanchao Dist., Kaohsiung City 82445, Taiwan

Received 9 December 2011; Revised 16 April 2012; Accepted 12 May 2012

Academic Editor: Hasan Cam

Copyright © 2012 Tung-Shih Su et al. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.


In a large-scale wireless sensor network, a topology is needed to gather state-based data from sensor network and efficiently aggregate the data given the requirements of balanced load, minimal energy consumption, and prolonged network lifetime. In this study, we proposed a ring-based hierarchical clustering scheme (RHC) consisting of four phases: predeployment, parent-child relationship building, deployment, and member join phases. Two node types are distributed throughout the network: cluster head nodes (type 1 node) and general sensor nodes (type 2 node). The type 1 node has better battery life, software capability, and hardware features than the type 2 node; therefore, the type 1 node is a better cluster head than type 2 node. Due to our IP naming rules and type 1 nodes as cluster heads, public key cryptography, such as RSA (Rivest, Shamir, Adleman), or ECC (Elliptic Curve Cryptosystem), is easily implanted to our system to strengthen our security. The sink node is the only certification authority in our system, but n level cluster heads can be extended to n level certification authorities if needed, where n is maximum number of level.