About this Journal Submit a Manuscript Table of Contents

Advances in Cognitive Radio Sensor Networks

Call for Papers

Cognitive radio (CR) is renowned for significantly enhancing the efficient utilization of the radio electromagnetic spectrum, which is considered a precious natural resource. CR is an intelligent wireless communication system built on the top of software-defined radio that learns from experience. By making use of both the intelligence and reconfigurability, the radio can switch across the spectrum adaptively. A CR is the most promising candidate for the successful deployment of dynamic spectrum access (DSA). To embed DSA in a wireless sensor network, a CR is required to be installed on each sensor node. Such a sensor network is known as a cognitive radio sensor network (CRSN). There are many challenges for the successful deployment of CRSNs including spectrum sensing, spectrum sharing algorithms, energy efficiency, protocol design, and quality of service and security. Potential topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Cooperative and noncooperative schemes for spectrum sensing
  • Centralized and distributed spectrum sensing for CRSNs
  • Spectrum sharing techniques for CRSNs
  • Cognitive radio mobile ad hoc networks
  • Cross-layer design and optimization
  • Biologically inspired networking for CRSNs
  • Machine learning techniques for CRSNs
  • CRSN-enhanced vehicular networks
  • CRSN for smart grid applications

Before submission authors should carefully read over the journal’s Author Guidelines, which are located at http://www.hindawi.com/journals/ijdsn/guidelines/. Prospective authors should submit an electronic copy of their complete manuscript through the journal Manuscript Tracking System at http://mts.hindawi.com/submit/journals/ijdsn/acrn/ according to the following timetable:

Manuscript DueFriday, 6 September 2013
First Round of ReviewsFriday, 29 November 2013
Publication DateFriday, 24 January 2014

Lead Guest Editor

Guest Editors

  • Waleed Ejaz, Sejong University, Seoul, Republic of Korea
  • Khalid Al-Begain, Faculty of Advanced Technology, University of South Wales, Pontypridd, UK
  • Al-Sakib Khan Pathan, International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Najam ul Hasan, National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences, Islamabad, Pakistan