Journal of Immunology Research

Journal of Immunology Research / 1999 / Article

Open Access

Volume 7 |Article ID 24514 | 8 pages |

A Mouse with a Monoclonal Primary lmmunoglobulin Repertoire not Further Diversified by V-Gene Replacement

Revised01 Dec 1998
Accepted09 Dec 1998


We have generated a monoclonal B-cell mouse by introducing homozygous, nonfunctional RAG-2 alleles and a λ1 light-chain transgene into the quasi-monoclonal (QM) mouse, which contains a “knocked-in” VHDJH rearrangement. Thus, this mouse, which we call MonoB, is devoid of T cells and contains preformed heavy- and light-chain genes encoding immunoglobulin with an anti-NP specificity. The MonoB mouse allows us to examine immunoglobulin diversity in the absence of processes mediated by V(D)J recombination and T cells. Here we report that not only is the MonoB's primary immunoglobulin repertoire monoclonal, but also that its secondary repertoire is not further diversified by V-gene replacement or gene conversion. Among 99 heavy-chain and 41 λ light-chain genes from peripheral B cells of the MonoB mouse, there were no V-gene replacements. When compared to the QM mouse, which has RAG activity, and for which V-gene replacement is the major diversifying mechanism, these data suggest that V-gene replacement is mediated by V(D)J recombination and not by other recombination systems.

Copyright © 1999 Hindawi Publishing Corporation. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

More related articles

0 Views | 0 Downloads | 0 Citations
 PDF  Download Citation  Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Related articles

We are committed to sharing findings related to COVID-19 as quickly and safely as possible. Any author submitting a COVID-19 paper should notify us at to ensure their research is fast-tracked and made available on a preprint server as soon as possible. We will be providing unlimited waivers of publication charges for accepted articles related to COVID-19. Sign up here as a reviewer to help fast-track new submissions.