Table of Contents Author Guidelines Submit a Manuscript
Journal of Nanomaterials
Volume 2016, Article ID 9182024, 9 pages
Research Article

Mechanosynthesis of MFe2O4 (M = Co, Ni, and Zn) Magnetic Nanoparticles for Pb Removal from Aqueous Solution

1Centro de Ciencias Aplicadas y Desarrollo Tecnológico, UNAM, Circuito Exterior, S/N, Ciudad Universitaria, A.P. 70-186, Delegación Coyoacán, CP 04510, Ciudad de México, Mexico
2Facultad de Ingeniería, UNACAR, CP 24180, Ciudad del Carmen, CAM, Mexico
3Instituto de Física Luis Rivera Terrazas, BUAP, Apartado Postal J-48, 72570 Puebla, PUE, Mexico
4Facultad de Ciencias de la Electrónica, BUAP, 18 Sur y Av. San Claudio, Edif. 109, 72570 Puebla, PUE, Mexico

Received 30 August 2016; Accepted 12 October 2016

Academic Editor: Kimberly Hamad-Schifferli

Copyright © 2016 America R. Vazquez-Olmos et al. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.


Adsorption of Pb(II) from aqueous solution using MFe2O4 nanoferrites (M = Co, Ni, and Zn) was studied. Nanoferrite samples were prepared via the mechanochemical method and were characterized by X-ray powder diffraction (XRD), Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR), micro-Raman, and vibrating sample magnetometry (VSM). XRD analysis confirms the formation of pure single phases of cubic ferrites with average crystallite sizes of 23.8, 19.4, and 19.2 nm for CoFe2O4, NiFe2O4, and ZnFe2O4, respectively. Only NiFe2O4 and ZnFe2O4 samples show superparamagnetic behavior at room temperature, whereas CoFe2O4 is ferromagnetic. Kinetics and isotherm adsorption studies for adsorption of Pb(II) were carried out. A pseudo-second-order kinetic describes the sorption behavior. The experimental data of the isotherms were well fitted to the Langmuir isotherm model. The maximum adsorption capacity of Pb(II) on the nanoferrites was found to be 20.58, 17.76, and 9.34 mg·g−1 for M = Co, Ni, and Zn, respectively.