Table of Contents Author Guidelines Submit a Manuscript

High Sensitivity Electromagnetic Sensors and Their Applications

Call for Papers

Electromagnetic sensors, such as induction coils, hall sensors, giant magnetoresistance (GMR) sensors, anisotropic magnetoresistance (AMR) sensors, magnetoimpedance (MI) sensors, fluxgate sensors, optical magnetometers, atomic magnetometers, and superconducting quantum interference devices (SQUIDs), are being used in a wide range of fields including material evaluation, biomagnetism, geophysics, communication, automobile, and aerospace.

In recent years, the properties of magnetic sensors have been greatly improved. For example, the magnetic field resolutions of low-cost, solid-state, room-temperature magnetic sensors, such as fluxgate and MI sensors, have reached the order of picotesla level, which will inevitably lead to the wider application of magnetic field sensors.

This special issue aims to attract novel research articles in the fields of high sensitivity magnetic sensors and their applications, including the research on sensor materials, sensor devices, and the development of equipment and systems to facilitate them. Review articles on the recent progress or summaries of previous works are also welcome.

Potential topics include but are not limited to the following:

  • Coils, coil arrays, and RF sensors
  • MI sensors
  • AMR sensor
  • Tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) sensors
  • GMR sensors
  • Fluxgate sensors
  • Optical magnetometers
  • Atomic magnetometers
  • SQUIDs
  • Nondestructive evaluation applications using magnetic sensors
  • Biomedical sensing using magnetic sensors

Authors can submit their manuscripts through the Manuscript Tracking System at

Submission DeadlineFriday, 2 August 2019
Publication DateDecember 2019

Papers are published upon acceptance, regardless of the Special Issue publication date.

Lead Guest Editor

  • Dongfeng He, National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan

Guest Editors

  • Lalita Udpa, Michigan State University, East Lansing, USA
  • Xiangyan Kong, Ningbo University, Ningbo, China
  • Kai Wu, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA