Journal of Spectroscopy

Journal of Spectroscopy / 2009 / Article

Open Access

Volume 23 |Article ID 275398 |

I. Bratu, Irina Kacso, Gh. Borodi, Daniela E. Constantinescu, Felicia Dragan, "Inclusion compound of Fosinopril with β-cyclodextrin", Journal of Spectroscopy, vol. 23, Article ID 275398, 8 pages, 2009.

Inclusion compound of Fosinopril with β-cyclodextrin


Solid state interactions of bioactive substance (4-cyclohexyl-1-[2-[(2-methyl-1-propanoyloxy-propoxy)-(4-phenylbutyl)phosphoryl]acetyl]-pyrrolidine-2-carboxylic acid, called Fosinopril), with β-cyclodextrin (β-CD), the so-called inclusion compounds of a bioactive (cardiovascular) drug is obtained by different preparation methods: kneading, co-precipitation and freeze-drying. The so obtained compounds were investigated by FTIR spectroscopy, X-ray diffraction method, and differential scanning calorimetric measurements (DSC) to evidence their formation. X-ray diffraction patterns show that the inclusion compound was obtained for kneaded, co-precipitation and freeze-dried products. The crystalline/amorphous degree for these compounds was also investigated. Molecular modeling (MM+ molecular mechanics) shows the spatial architecture of the inclusion compound in good agreement with FTIR experimental data: the drug is included with the propanoyloxy-propoxy group inside β-cyclodextrin cavity. These findings may constitute a direct contribution to the molecular encapsulation of Fosinopril into β-cyclodextrin, improving Fosinopril stability and bioavailability of the drug, also.

Copyright © 2009 Hindawi Publishing Corporation. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

Related articles

No related content is available yet for this article.
 PDF Download Citation Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2021, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.