Mediators of Inflammation

Mediators of Inflammation / 2003 / Article

Open Access

Volume 12 |Article ID 653968 |

Veronika Sekerova, Daniela Subrtova, Frantisek Mrazek, Agata Gibejova, Vitezslav Kolek, Roland M. du Bois, Martin Petrek, "In vitro pharmacoregulation of CC chemokine ligand 5 and its receptor CCR5 in diffuse lung diseases", Mediators of Inflammation, vol. 12, Article ID 653968, 6 pages, 2003.

In vitro pharmacoregulation of CC chemokine ligand 5 and its receptor CCR5 in diffuse lung diseases


Background: CC chemokine ligand (CCL)5 and its receptor CCR5 contribute to leukocyte migration into lungs of patients with diffuse lung diseases (DLD). Pharmacological regulation of CCL5 and CCR5 expression was therefore explored in bronchoalveolar cells obtained from patients with DLD.Methods: Cells from 21 patients were co-cultivated in vitro with tumour necrosis factor-α and dexamethasone, cyclosporin A (CyA) or pentoxifylline. Chemokine mRNA expression and protein production was assessed by reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction and enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay, respectively.Results: Dexamethasone altered CCL5 mRNA expression and suppressed its protein levels. CyA inhibited chemokine mRNA expression but not protein production. Pentoxifylline did not affected chemokine expression. Both dexamethasone and CyA suppressed CCR5 mRNA transcripts.Conclusion: In conclusion, while dexamethasone downregulates the CCL5 functional form, CyA and pentoxifylline have no effects on CCL5 protein. These data provide in vitro correlation for clinical applications of immunomodulators in therapy of DLD.

Copyright © 2003 Hindawi Publishing Corporation. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

More related articles

 PDF Download Citation Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2020, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.