Figure 1: Map showing the old French urban settlements which were named “les Quatre Communes du Sénégal.” Saint Louis (1659) served as a base for the French seizure of West Africa from along the Senegal River; the Island of Gorée (1678), where French merchants (and slavers) were concentrated, together with the métis community and the French Navy; Rufisque (1850), which orchestrated on the thriving groundnut trade with the hinterland; Dakar (1857), a strategic and the westernmost point in Africa. (Map made by the author).