International Scholarly Research Notices / 2011 / Article / Tab 1

Research Article

Development of the Nurses' Observation Scale for Cognitive Abilities (NOSCA)

Table 1

Scales with a focus on direct observation of cognitive function (delirium screening scales excluded).

Scale(1)AuthorsSettingPopulationSubscales concerning cognition(2)Cognitive domains(3) ( 𝑛 )

A-oneArnadottir, 1990 [11]HospitalTraumaMotor apraxia, ideational apraxia, body neglect, somatoagnosia, spatial neglect, abnormal tone, perseveration, organisation, sequencing, sensory and expressive aphasia, dysarthria, jargon aphasia, paraphasia, perseveration, anomia5
Bans-SVolicer et al., 1987 [12]Nursing homeDementiaSpeech1
CPS (MDS/RAI)Morris et al., 1994 [13]Nursing homeDementiaComatose, short-term memory, decision making, making self understood4
GIPVerstraten, 1988 [14]Nursing homeElderlyConsciousness, incoherence, memory disorders, disoriented behaviour, aimless repetitive behaviour, suspiciousness5
MOSESHelmes et al., 1987 [15]Nursing homeElderlyDisorientated behaviour1
NOSGERSpiegel et al., 1991 [16]HospitalElderlyMemory1
OLDHopman-Rock et al., 2001 [17]General practiceDementiaForgetfulness, repetition, language, understanding, orientation.5

(1)Scales: A-one: Árnadóttir OT-ADL Neurobehavioral Evaluation.
Bans-S: Bedford Alzheimer Nursing Scale.
CPS: Cognitive Performance Scale, subscale from Minimum Data Set (MDS) and part of the National Residential assessment Instrument for nursing homes RAI.
GIP: Nurses’ Behavioural Rating Scale for Geriatric Inpatients.
MOSES: Multidimensional Observation Scale for Elderly subjects.
NOSGER: Nurses’ observations scale for geriatric patients.
OLD: Observation List for early signs of Dementia.
(2)Titles of the cognitive subscales. The noncognitive subscales are not listed.
(3)Cognitive domains of the subscales classified by the seven domains as described by Foreman et al. [5]: alertness/consciousness, attention, memory, thinking, perception, psychomotor behaviour, higher cognitive functions.

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2020, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.