Behavioural Neurology

Behavioural Neurology / 2012 / Article

Open Access

Volume 25 |Article ID 501979 |

Davide Quaranta, Camillo Marra, Guido Gainotti, "Post-Stroke Depression: Main Phenomenological Clusters and their Relationships with Clinical Measures", Behavioural Neurology, vol. 25, Article ID 501979, 8 pages, 2012.

Post-Stroke Depression: Main Phenomenological Clusters and their Relationships with Clinical Measures

Received17 Feb 2012
Accepted17 Feb 2012


Objectives: To investigate the principal psychopathological dimensions of post-stroke depression (PSD) through the assessment of the factorial structure of the Post-Stroke Depression Rating Scale (PSDRS).Methods: We enrolled ninety-eight subjects with PSD, who underwent the PSDRS, MMSE and Barthel Index. Information about demographic, clinical, and neuroanatomical factors was collected.Results: The factor analysis extracted three factors accounting for 63.4% of the total variance, and identified as: (1) “Depressive and Anxious Symptoms“ (DAS); (2) “Lack of Emotional Control” (LEC); 3) “Reduced Motivation” (RM). On multivariate statistics, DAS severity was predicted by previous history of mood disorders and Barthel Index; LEC severity was predicted by Barthel Index; RM severity was predicted by age.Conclusions: The PSDRS displayed a reliable factor structure that agreed with previous interpretation of PSD. In particular, core depressive symptoms seem to be related to premorbid personality and functional status, whereas apathy/anhedonia may be connected to brain aging.

Copyright © 2012 Hindawi Publishing Corporation and the authors. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

Related articles

No related content is available yet for this article.
 PDF Download Citation Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2021, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.