Table 1: Phenotype classification of PCOS patients in different populations.

FeaturesPhenotype A
HA + OA + PCO (%)
Phenotype B
HA + OA (%)
Phenotype C
HA + PCO (%)
Phenotype D
OA + PCO (%)

Palermo, Italy153.98.928.88.4
Erzurum, Turkey244.122.814.218.9
Sao Paulo, Brazil358.47.911.122.6
Mexico City, Mexico464.532.62.90

HA: hyperandrogenism; OA: oligo-anovulation; PCO: polycystic ovaries. The NIH criteria recognizes A and B phenotypes, the Rotterdam consensus accepts all four phenotypes, and the AES-PCOS admits A, B, and C phenotypes. Data taken from 1Guastella et al. [14], 2Yilmaz et al. [15], 3Melo et al. [16], and 4Moran et al. [17].