Journal of Healthcare Engineering

Journal of Healthcare Engineering / 2014 / Article

Research Article | Open Access

Volume 5 |Article ID 986415 |

Fahmi Fahmi, Henk Marquering, Geert Streekstra, Ludo Beenen, Natasja Janssen, Charles Majoie, Ed vanBavel, "Automatic Detection of CT Perfusion Datasets Unsuitable for Analysis due to Head Movement of Acute Ischemic Stroke Patients", Journal of Healthcare Engineering, vol. 5, Article ID 986415, 12 pages, 2014.

Automatic Detection of CT Perfusion Datasets Unsuitable for Analysis due to Head Movement of Acute Ischemic Stroke Patients

Received01 Jun 2013
Accepted01 Oct 2013


Head movement during brain Computed Tomography Perfusion (CTP) can deteriorate perfusion analysis quality in acute ischemic stroke patients. We developed a method for automatic detection of CTP datasets with excessive head movement, based on 3D image-registration of CTP, with non-contrast CT providing transformation parameters. For parameter values exceeding predefined thresholds, the dataset was classified as ‘severely moved’. Threshold values were determined by digital CTP phantom experiments. The automated selection was compared to manual screening by 2 experienced radiologists for 114 brain CTP datasets. Based on receiver operator characteristics, optimal thresholds were found of respectively 1.0°, 2.8° and 6.9° for pitch, roll and yaw, and 2.8 mm for z-axis translation. The proposed method had a sensitivity of 91.4% and a specificity of 82.3%. This method allows accurate automated detection of brain CTP datasets that are unsuitable for perfusion analysis.

Copyright © 2014 Hindawi Publishing Corporation. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

More related articles

 PDF Download Citation Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Related articles

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2020, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.