Mediators of Inflammation

Mediators of Inflammation / 1996 / Article

Open Access

Volume 5 |Article ID 291261 |

Y. Denizot, P. Fixe, E. Cornu, N. Nathan, "Plasma macrophage colony-stimulating factor levels during cardiopulmonary bypass with extracorporeal circulation", Mediators of Inflammation, vol. 5, Article ID 291261, 4 pages, 1996.

Plasma macrophage colony-stimulating factor levels during cardiopulmonary bypass with extracorporeal circulation


Leukocytosis and thrombocytopenia occur during cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) with extracorporeal circulation (ECC). Elevated circulating concentrations of macrophage colony-stimulating factor (M-CSF) are reported during thrombocytopenia and leukopenia of different origins. We have assessed M-CSF concentrations in 40 patients undergoing CPB with ECC. Plasma M-CSF concentrations were stable during ECC and increased at the 6th (7.3 ± 0.7 IU/μg protein) and 24th (8.6 ± 0.8 IU/μg protein) postoperative hour compared with pre-ECC values (4.9 ± 0.5 IU/μg protein). A deep thrombocytopenia was found during ECC and until the 24th postoperative hour. A drop of leukocyte counts was found during ECC followed by an increase after ECC weaning. While no correlation was found between M-CSF concentrations and the leukocyte counts, M-CSF values were positively correlated with platelet counts only before and during ECC. Thus, M-CSF is not implicated in the thrombocytopenia and the leukopenia generated during CPB with ECC. However the elevated levels of M-CSFa few hours after the end of ECC might play a role in the inflammatory process often observed after CPB.

Copyright © 1996 Hindawi Publishing Corporation. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

More related articles

 PDF Download Citation Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2020, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.