VLSI Design

VLSI Design / 1993 / Article
Special Issue

VLSI Testing

View this Special Issue

Open Access

Volume 1 |Article ID 089495 | https://doi.org/10.1155/1993/89495

Samiha Mourad, "Computer-Aided Testing Systems: Evaluation and Benchmark Circuits", VLSI Design, vol. 1, Article ID 089495, 11 pages, 1993. https://doi.org/10.1155/1993/89495

Computer-Aided Testing Systems: Evaluation and Benchmark Circuits


As the demand on Computer-Aided Testing Systems (CATS)—Automatic Test Pattern Generation (ATPG) and logic and fault simulations as well as testability analysis—increases and the choice becomes more varied, a need to compare the merits of the different systems emerges. Benchmark circuits are used to carry out the comparisons.In this paper, criteria for selecting the benchmark circuits are discussed. These criteria are partly based on the results of experiments carried out to characterize CATS. The focus is particularly on Automatic Test Pattern Generators. The preliminary results show that there is no general agreement on how: 1) fault collapsing is performed, and 2) fault coverage is calculated. In addition, the performance of the ATPGs depends on the circuit representation, topology and size as well as the algorithm. In order to compare the performance of the ATPGs as the circuit under test increases in complexity, it is important to use regular structures that consist of replication of medium size circuits. Practical considerations involved in benchmarking are also examined. Emphasis is on the transfer of circuits between different CATS systems and the use of EDIF as a neutral exchange language.

Copyright © 1993 Hindawi Publishing Corporation. This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

More related articles

 PDF Download Citation Citation
 Order printed copiesOrder

Article of the Year Award: Outstanding research contributions of 2020, as selected by our Chief Editors. Read the winning articles.